Jesus – A Friend of Sinners!

1friend

I remember as a kid being told, “Be careful when you point, you have three more pointing back at you”. The truth of that statement really is simple. Everybody is really in the same boat; we all have faults and we all have issues. Lately, I have been bothered by the finger pointing and condemning voices by so many that call themselves Christians. Have we forgot that we are all sinners? Have we forgot where we came from not so long ago? Do we have compassion and concern for the feelings of others? Have we forgot that Jesus was a friend of sinners?

For my friends who are very fundamental in your beliefs, to the point you tend to condemn others, don’t worry, I believe marriage should be between a man and a woman. For my friends that are gay (yes I have gay friends), you are still my friend and you have known my belief in this area. I am not writing to argue for or against gay marriage. I am writing to remind my self that Jesus was a friend of sinners. I am writing for what should break our hearts and that is sinners.

Jesus ate with sinners! Jesus walked with sinners! Jesus sought out sinners! He made sinners feel comfortable, not comfortable of the sin, but comfortable to be near Jesus. Sinners felt they could come to Jesus. God could not be a friend of sinners. God could have nothing to do with sin, the abominations of the world, but then came grace. The grace of God came in the form of a man, Jesus Christ. This man, a friend of sinners! Just so friendly he died for the sins of the world.

How many people have we failed to reach with the gospel because they saw us pointing out their sins? How many people have been shunned by the church because they didn’t measure up to our standards. I’m sure the openness of the sinners life is lived more today than in Jesus’ day, but we are still commanded to love. Many people will never change nor will they allow you to express your love and friendship with them, but others are eager to have it. Others want the message of Christ, but the church has made it easier for the world to love them.

Many have tripped over the message of Christ because of my life and example. My prayer is that I never push people away from God because I fail to follow the example of Christ and be their friend. So many times we forget what we are sinners. Never lose the fact that you are a sinner and without the friendship of Jesus would have never been redeemed!

Leave a comment